About Our Roving Adjudicators

Frances RuoffBreezy Point, has a commitment to theatre that spans 30+ years, as a professional actress and director in New York. As a member of Screen Actor's Guild, Actors Equity and AFTRA she has appeared on TV and in numerous theatre and film productions. Having received an MFA in Directing from Brooklyn College her first and foremost love is directing for the theatre. Frances was Artistic Director for the Diocesean Theatre Guild's Repertory Co. and The Sunshine Players. She is presently directing for the Rockaway Theatre Co. and teaching Theatre and English courses at Kingsborough Community College/CUNY. Frances has received great satisfaction working with TANYS and its members and looks forward to serving many more years as a TANYS adjudicator.
Paul NelsonOlean, has been adjudicating in New York State for more than 22 years. He has served as an adjudicator for the Ohio, Delaware and Pennsylvania State Festivals. Additionally, he has had the privilege of adjudicating at the New England Regional Festival (Region I), the Mid-Western Regional Festival (Region III) and most recently at the AACT National Festival in Carmel, Indiana. He is a lifelong member of Alpha Psi Omega and has been recognized theatrically as a recipient of the Robert E. Sinclair Award for Performance, the Cothurnus Award for Outstanding theatrical work and the Daryl L. Hanson Award for Musical Theatre. Paul has also been recognized by the Theatre Association of New York State (TANYS) and the Eastern States Theatre Association (ESTA) for his work as an actor and director. He has been honored by TANYS with the Mary Eva Duthie Award for outstanding contributions to non-professional theatre across New York State and by the American Association of Community Theatre for his contributions to theatre in New York and other states. Paul has served as President of TANYS and as a board member of ESTA. Paul obtained his BFA in Theatre and BS in Education from SUNY Geneseo.
Joan LutherNaples, has been active in all aspects of educational, community and professional theater for over 40 years. She is a Roving Adjudicator for the Theatre Association of New York State and currently serves on their Board as Past President. She was recently presented the Mary Eva Duthie Award for significant contributions to community theatre. Ms. Luther also attended AACT’s National Adjudicator training seminar in Charlotte, NC in 2007.
Arnold GalinRome, holds a BA in Speech and MA in Theatre and Communications from SUNY Albany. He has been active with the Catham Dinner Theatre in Blassville and the Oneida Area Little Theatre. Arnie has been involved with the Rome Community Theatre for 30 years and has directed and acted in over 50 productions. He is also the drama director at Rome Free Academy (Senior High School.)
Robert (Bob) FrameSkaneateles, is Past President of TANYS. Bob holds a BA in Theatre from SUNY Oswego and is the Director of Theatre Operations for Cayuga Community College in Auburn. In addition to his "day job," he is a freelance actor, director, lighting designer and theatre consultant who has received numerous awards from ACTF and TANYS for his work. A 1995 recipient of the Mary Eva Duthie Award and the winner of the J. Richard Mahlstedt Festival Directing Award, Bob is the producer/director for Harlequin Productions of CCC which specializes in doing new, unpublished scripts. He is both a Roving Adjudicator and Technical Adjudicator.
Cindy AppletonWarsaw, long time director and thespian, has extensive experience as a teacher, critic and performer. She holds numerous awards for directing, acting, set and stage design, and production work from the Theater Association of New York State. She directed the WCBS Players award-winning production of Snow Stars which received top honors for Best Short Production at the 2008 TANYS Festival and brought Cynthia the coveted J. Richard Mahlstedt Directing Award. Snow Stars went on to represent New York State at the Eastern States Theater Festival (ESTA) in April 2009 at Wye Mills, Maryland and received the award for Outstanding Production Design. In 2009, Cynthia was the recipient of the Arts Council for Wyoming County’s Directors Award. Cynthia currently sits on the Board of Directors for WCBS Players and is Past President of this organization.
Diane MashiaRochester, has a Bachelor of Arts degree from Smith College, and has worked with a variety of community theater groups in the Rochester, NY area. She has appeared in numerous productions over the past 20 years, including in You Talkin’ to Me? at the Fringe of Toronto International Theatre Festival in 2006, and The Adirondack Historical Railroad’s The Great Train Robbery, with The Mystery Company of the Finger Lakes in 2007. She has been a Teaching Artist with Young Audiences of Rochester, where she worked with elementary and middle school students in developing communication and conflict resolution skills. Diane’s directing credits are many and varied, as are her extensive appearances with improv troupe “Some Assembly Required,” and in local theater-based corporate training workshops with Learning Out Loud, a training consulting business, which she ran from 2000 to 2008. She has been a Wardrobe Mistress, Props Master, Stage Manager, Choreographer, and House Photographer; she served five years on the Board of Directors of the Penfield Players; and in 2006, she helped found Rochester’s Black Sheep Theatre, where she currently serves as Artistic Director.